DeSantis names his transition team

    Newly minted governor-elect Ron DeSantis made his first official move on Wednesday when he announced four Republicans who will lead his transition team.

    Panhandle area U.S. Rep. Matt Gaetz, outgoing Speaker of the House Richard Corcoran, former U.S. Senator George LeMieux and former Lieutenant Governor Toni Jennings will chair the DeSantis transition team.

    In addition, Susie Wiles, who served as DeSantis’s campaign chair after a rocky beginning to his general election campaign, will serve as Executive Director, with Scott Parkinson, DeSantis’s his former congressional chief-of-staff, to serve as Deputy Executive Director.

    “I’m confident these individuals will ensure our administration is ready to lead on day one to make our state cleaner, safer and stronger for all Floridians,” DeSantis announced in a statement.

    The learning curve will be strong for DeSantis, a three-term Congressman who has never served in state government.

    Between now and January 8, DeSantis will need to assemble an entire administration; appoint agency heads; hire his executive staff; plan and execute an inauguration and build a legislative agenda.


    Mitch Perry
    Mitch Perry has spent the past 18 years covering news and politics in the Sunshine State, most recently with He worked for five years as the political editor of Creative Loafing in Tampa, and before that he was the assistant news director at WMNF radio, where he served as creator/anchor/producer of the hour-long WMNF Evening News. A San Francisco native, Mitch began his career at KPFA Radio in Berkeley in the 1990's.


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here